A funny question: Putting #fanfiction in your resume (Revision)


Here is a small revision of my now deleted post. I was rushing out the door when I posted the previous one and I’m sorry. I’m sure there was more that I wanted to add, and I should’ve checked it better.

Ow9qE_s-200x150.gif

I found this funny question lying somewhere on the net, and I forgot where. It quickly met with an answer of rejection. But instead of saying “No” and leaving it at that, I thought about it a bit more diligently.

First, I probably understand the point of asking the question. You want to provide writing samples such as for magazine or newspaper articles so you can look like an author; news media, including the spread of misinformation, imbue the online and social media.

Second, you were passionate about the work you created despite any kind of quality. Some need work, some put their hair and heart into it for sure, some think they are arrogantly or truthfully, creative. You have something to show.

Third, there is the protection of one’s product or property. Whether you like it or not, the practice of fanfiction is disagreeable here and there. It is thanks to advocates of freedom of expression and of parody being a legal medium of entertainment that fanworks are given positive critique. Some published authors have written fanfiction as well.

LINK: Professional Author Fanfic Policies (FANLORE w/references)

So what is the answer?

I’d go with “no”. I also thought of why the question was given a “no” from where I found it; the word “no” can also mean that there should be alternatives.

Here is the negative part: I took consideration in the influence of the website that you place your work in.

Fanfiction, especially Fanfiction.net, which is considered the core site for where the works are found, can be a literature cesspool. I myself have ambivalent views. If you put in a link such as “https://www.fanfiction.net/~TelsaDagger” (not real by the way) in your resume or cover level, it might look pretty strange. However, people see themselves as authors and you, once in a while, can find a good product.

I also thought that this may be the most important reason: You’re not aspiring to become a published author or land your article in a reading medium by springing off the back of another unless you’re doing news or some other kind of non-fiction.

If you look at the guidelines of manuscript submissions, even for books or comics, you realize that your creativity matters. The base that you will provide matters. That is the usual case — your aspect that you must make exist. Also, when you do work on getting a writer’s job or do publishing, you have to offer reasons as to why you’re qualified and why should your writing be approved? Will your writing aim be a success? Think of the readers.

Do not think Inuyasha. Not Olympus. Not The Hunger Games. Not Rick and Morty. Not Big Bang Theory. Not Game of Thrones.

When it comes to fanfiction and one’s life, you need to know are you legally able to write (or translate) derivative work? Are you given the permission? Does the publisher, the person (or people/company) who concocted the work gave you the permission? Do you shoot to become a writer for DC Comics or Disney for example?

In any case, it’s not like the work you made can’t be inspired into something else. Also, as fanfiction is writing, you’ll have the mentality of an author.

From ‘Fifty Shades’ to ‘After’: Why publishers want fan fiction to go mainstream (WASHINGTON POST)

Check out Attack on Titan Anthology, an reinterpretation of Isayama Hajime’s original work. Various artists provided their own spin and style on AoT.

As you can see, Attack of Titan was an international success, whether you agree or not, and it makes sense to do this anthology.

I hope this is fair.

I even thought of saying “How about posting fanfics elsewhere?” For example, what if I posted my fanfics on this blog? But ultimately, I still thought the word “No”.

Leave a Reply

