“Awarded free rent?” Annotated bibliography about homelessness in #Michigan


Today, I was reordering my computer files, and I came across something from last year’s winter: A document on my short research on homelessness, and it made me recall on some assignments that I did. I was aiming for an idea on how to reduce homelessness/beggars as it poses a huge issue in southeast Michigan (before that, I focused on animal abuse), but I mostly ended up with data.

Art and fitness, to me, is very important in mental health and plays a big role in Michigan lifestyle. Take a look at the League of Michigan Bicyclists and the Michigan Bicycle Racing Association. Also, Detroit is home to one of the nation’s most renowned museums: The Detroit Institute of Arts.

The following is what I gathered for my assignments. Also, I advise to never sleep in a dumpster to save your life.

Mary. “What you learn about humanity while living on the streets?”  The Guardian. 13 October, 2013. Web.  3 April 2016. Retrieved from http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2013/oct/13/homeless-nyc-people-you-meet

I was looking for someone’s personal experience at a homeless shelter, and I found both the Guardian and the Business Insider (below). Not that I was looking for something negative, but I guess I was really sympathetic. She looked like she burdened a common problem; she became unemployed and couldn’t find work, eventually hitting rock bottom. Perhaps the insight is easy to learn from.

“2014 Annual Report – State of Homelessness.” Michigan Coalition against Homelessness. Web. 3 April 2015. Retrieved from http://mihomeless.org/

After it took my weeks to figure out the topic, my primary thoughts for research was to figure out how many homeless were in Michigan, and this is when I realized that most of the homeless were in southeastern Michigan. The website’s name is pretty typical I’d say. The data is relatively new; we are probably not done with counting 2015 yet.

Johnson, Robert. “I Spent The Night In A Homeless Shelter—Here’s What It Was Like.” Business Insider. 18 Jan. 2012. Web. 3 April 2016. Retrieved from http://www.businessinsider.com/sleepingin-a-homeless-shelter-2012-1<

Like Mary’s story, I was looking for real-life narratives on what it’s like to be homeless, especially pictures. I didn’t expect it to be pleasant; it gave me the idea of the passage about "cramping residents" and "burden", the latter to mean “burgeoning”.

Reed, Carey. “Dutch nursing home offers rent-free housing to students.” PBS News Hour. 5 April 2015. Web. 3 April 2016. Retrieved from http://www.pbs.org/newshour/rundown/dutch-retirement-home-offers-rent-free-housing-students-one-condition/

I don’t think I was able to explain how Michigan student volunteers, if to repeat the same thing as these Dutch students, were to be awarded free rent. That was an idea, but in the end, I was more touched by the story.

Palatino, Mong. “The Dancing Prisoners of Cebu.” Relativity Online. WordPress. Web. 5 April 2016. Retrieved from http://www.relativityonline.com/home/the-dancing-prisoners-of-cebu/

I’ve heard of these guys from years ago and I was looking for any kind of article to express their talent. Because they’re well synchronized, isn’t it obvious that there is a strong sense of respect and teaching?

“Great Fire of 1805.” Encyclopedia of Detroit. Detroit Historical Society. Web. April 6 2016. Retrieved from http://detroithistorical.org/learn/encyclopedia-of-detroit/great-fire-1805.

It is an encyclopedia; I think any “Michigan-holic” or anyone hungry for northern states history should take a look at this. To be honest, I am dry about my state’s roots.

“Tragedy Can Result When People Climb Into Waste Dumpsters.” Homeless Shelter Directory. Web. 7 April 2015. Retrieved from http://www.homelessshelterdirectory.org/cgi-bin/id/article.cgi?article=19

I wasn’t able to add this, but I came across it late and thought it was important to describe the dangers of homelessness. It is easy believable, especially considering the bizarre weather we have been getting in Michigan. However, I think I should find more articles regarding this.

Leave a Reply

