Doggie Daily Life #mentalhealth #health #Professionalism


takeshi.jpg

Short version: I talk about daily life and how noise affects the brain.

These past three weeks I’ve been hard myself.

It is a typical feeling for anyone to have if there’s little going on in one’s life, if finances are low, if there’s lack of friends, etc. First week, I became sick, then afterwards, I felt the pressure of getting work done. Once more, I felt like I “missed my chance”.

I even considered stopping Twitter.

I might not be the wisest or most informative person in the world, especially for blogging world, but while I was teetering over the choices of how to use WP and why, I came up with the thought that I had plenty to share. Thoughts that I wanted to share just like everyone else. It took me so long because I was scared. I did arbitrary blogging few time before, and I knew that I made rash decisions, thinking that they were the right thing to do. I thought I had enough reasoning and persuasive skill. However, being rash ended up with unfavorable results.

Unfavorable results such as proving my nativity and ignorance to a wide audience and getting embarrassed. Proving that, when I thought I could do critical analysis, my attempts bombed.

Still, I wanted to keep trying. Maybe because I always liked to write since I was younger. When its something from youth, it can’t easily go away.

So I came with the decision that I disliked thinking of the words “Not sure” and “I can’t do it”. Being fixed in one place due to fear isn’t healthy. Instead, I thought of “What could I expose?”, “How can I help?”, and more importantly, “Who can I touch?” and “What will the future will hold?” How can I be an asset? To someone or something?

“Who can I find?”

Why are these thoughts so strong? What is the path to a faithful life? I often wondered over being “accepted” and what I could do?

I am a very ordinary person. Currently, I work part-time and I’m a part-time student, along with babysitting my niece. Not my daughter, but my niece. Long story behind that. A common day is getting up for work, preparing breakfast for both myself and niece before school. I try to take a couple days off to focus on homework. At the moment, I am unable to make living wage. Full-time is out of my reach, so I sought for a better degree/program. However, you can’t ignore children.

You can’t ignore elders either. And both “focus” and “demand” just doesn’t connect. It is difficult to focus on myself when others desire my attention. That is especially when a child is starting to grow psychologically, and teaching starts at home.

“{Auntie], look at this.”
“Can I have this?”
“Can you do this?”
“Well, what are you doing?”
“Are you done yet?”
“Can you change the channel?”
“I’m hungry!”

So, in the afternoon-evening, I have to look over niece’s homework, if she has any, and a list of supplementary tasks such as reading and preparing for the MAP. Unfortunately, I am not a genius and I’m not quick, especially when there’s so much disruption. Next thing you know, I have three assignments, one being an essay. Imagine the research that is needed. A lot of patience and time is needed, the day’s light dwindles every passing hour. I get little done. Too many voices, too much moving around, too much blanking. This is the same case with leisurely projects such as trying to think up a novel, or thinking up an elaborate blog entry.

Then, I get the complaint that I’ll make the child “a hermit” if I keep her, my niece, in the house for too long.

For the longest time, I didn’t care about myself. Few years ago, I’ve decided to change that, and that’s where the aggravation comes from. Especially when I see those doing “better” than me, improving more than me. Especially with little competence. I want to show professionalism and live a life. My passion could be used for something much more.

That will come in another entry.

Stress is a factor. Long before niece, a family member would rock in her chair and it would tap the ground, creating an intermittent noise almost every day. So, I guess I get a case of constant disruption. So, I’m incredibly shrewd and impatient with sounds. I don’t even like it when niece talks sometimes, and I have to restrain my anger when I hear her call me. Other that that, we get along quite well.

When I’m doing homework, studying, I often find myself playing calming music. From just listening to classical to Legend of Zelda medley. It gives me some comfort.

SOURCE: The brain’s ‘stopping’ mechanism can be triggered by sounds to derail your train of thought | DailyMail

For the majority of the trials, participants were played a simple tone, but occasionally would be played a section of birdsong, which acted as a minor distraction.

The scans showed that the unexpected interruption resulted in activity in the STN, indicating that distraction produced the same signature as the brain’s stop signal for an abrupt stop to physical movement.

In addition, more activity in the STN [subthalamic nucleus, apart of the basal ganglia] was related to a greater degree of disruption in working memory and the more likely a person was to lose track of the memory task.

Here is more:

SOURCE: Too Much “Noise” Can Affect Brain Development (2016; Neuro Science News)

Using cutting-edge imaging technology, University of California, Irvine biologists have determined that uncontrolled fluctuations (known at “noise) in the concentration of the vitamin A derivative Retinoic acid (RA) can lead to disruptions in brain organization during development.

A good reason why to not yell at children, which I happen to see a lot at work and become disgusted by.

If that’s the case…

I would say that I am a pro at my work, because, among a group of people who disdain their job, sit in the back, and aren’t prone to doing their tasks, I deliver DELIBERATELY. I also can have plenty of sympathy when it comes to caring for people. Supporting my niece also helps in that department too.

That is all. That is why I keep my entries short if I can help it.

One thought on “Doggie Daily Life #mentalhealth #health #Professionalism

  1. Pingback: Direction and Visions! Illustrator/Screenwriter histories + artists with “anime-style” work #AoKWoW #neversaynever | The Doggie World

Leave a Reply

