Doggie Digest on #Arslan Senki Fuujin Ranbu FINAL + Image Cast.


Arslan’s quest to become a valiant, noble king continued, and then ended again.

The final chapter of Season 2 is called Fuujin Ranbu (風塵乱舞) or Dance of Drifting Sands.

Andragoras said something very true, and it fit the different types of justice that’s been a theme throughout this series. To put it loosely: “Every monarch, encrusted with jewels and such on the outside, had their own background of bloodshed and darkness.”

I wasn’t sure why it’s called Drifting Sands unless it was a metaphor of Arslan’s “exile”, moving together with his finest followers. Fujin can also mean “seclusion” from what I gather. It’s more understandable in the final ep with the blowing wind and the armies charging towards one another. But that’s where it ends.

You know what bothers me?

The OVA and the TV series will remain incomplete, but it’s the TV series, the Arakawa-Full Metal Alchemist version, that will remain strong on everyone’s minds. It will probably continue producing material, a new season. Plus, there was staff division during the OVA. The TV series takes its slow, sweet time; previous season, Arslan said they were charging towards the royal capital, but got diverted by the Turans attacking Peshwar. This looks legit now.

There is still so much to catch up on, and the novels are still in process, the latest being the 15th volume in 2016, and a large gap between the releases starting from the 9th book.

I think such records are better in literature form. I believe the OVA and the TV’s 2nd season stopped before the novel’s 7th volume (王都奪還). As for Arakawa’s manga, it’s at its 5th volume (probably based on Road of Sweat and Blood/汗血公路, the 4th book, or the one preceding that).

The 6th volume will be released in November with a DVD.

shounmag.jpg

Source

Gieve coverart: Kodansha. Arakawa Hiromu

And…Kaji-Mask still can’t talk, and I love Saam.

Not sure when I’ll get to the OVA. It’s been years since I saw the first two parts, so I’ll be glad to start again.

Check out http://kikubon.jp/arslan.php


 

Image Cast and Arakawa Comic

hahaalfeela

Another thing: Arslan manga is totally funny. Blended with its violence, I’d say its signature for Arakawa. Even Silvermask!

silvehrhhaa.jpg

If you’re interested, here’s my idea of a main Arslan C.V Cast:

Arslan – Kobayashi Yusuke (小林 裕介)

It could’ve been anyone. I think he did a great job. Innocent and young, gentle and considerate, he sounds genuinely upset in his rare moments of anger, and shows that even he has a wet-behind-the-ears voice still when proving to be daring. Yamaguchi Kappei and Seki Toshihiko were Arslan’s former CVs; with Kappei in mind, the idea for Arslan was probably “a new face“.

Daryun – Toriumi Kousuke (鳥海浩輔‎), Ono Daisuke, Narita Ken.

Hosoya Yoshimasa was quite bearable. If I had a second choice, I wouldn’t mind Toriumi or Ono D. These guys are always lean towards these “tall and muscular” guys. I’m leaning towards the noble, “trustworthy” sound. Inoue Kazuhiko and Suzuoki Hirotaka (OVA and Tape’s Daryun) successor. Toriumi however voices Rajendra. The majority of Hirotaka’s roles has gone to Narita Ken.

Elam – Kimura Ryohei (木村 良平)
Hanae was good. Like Arslan, it could’ve been anyone. A nice, reliable boy devoted to Narsus/ Formerly C.V Sasaki Nozomu, who was known for his high-pitched voice that you could sometimes confuse him for a girl. To be honest, I want to see more Miyata Koki, but I think Staff is leaning towards “new face” with both TV and OVA version, thus Sasaki (at the time) and Hanae. Yamashita Daiki (山下 大輝) would be fine here too.

Narsus – Seki Tomokazu (関 智一)
I still didn’t get why there, from what I saw, a big disagreement on Namikawa Daisuke’s performance. Former VAs for Narsus was Otsuka Houchu and beautiful Shiozawa Kaneto. I don’t get Houchu even though he’d played just about any guy, including pretty men. Narsus seems to be the charismatic young leader with a calm, somewhat eccentric side.  SekiTomo? Also, close to Daryun. They almost behave like they’re cheek to cheek.

Gieve – Eguchi Takuya, Kenji Nojima, Ishida Akira
KENN was good though. What could they be looking for? Something goofy or something melodious? We go from Kazuki Yao to KENN here. Gieve is the aloof type, sweet-tongued, and goes for the ladies.

Farangis – Satoh Rina (佐藤 利奈), Ohara Sayaka (大原 さやか‎), Inoue Kikuko (井上 喜久子), Kuwashima Houko.
I think Sakamoto Maaya sounded more like a boy? When I first heard that she was cast, I was in the weirdest state of confusion and uncertainty. “Yes? No? Yes? Maybe?” It wasn’t an issue, even though replacing Katsuki Masako won’t always set well with me. I don’t say that out of spite, it’s just something that my ears [the boy sound] caught. It’s odd for Farangis to sound like that when she’s nearly naked. It didn’t bother me that much, and of course Sakamoto has a lovely singing voice. Maybe her performance wasn’t always consistent? She did great in Gilan ^.^: I guess the idea here is “cool beauty who rarely expresses feelings”. Because Rina is an alto with a stable voice when sounding mature, will it work? Ohara seems to be taking up these characters as forerunner these days. Inoue might be asking for too much.

SilvermaskSuwabe Junichi (諏訪部 順一), Hosoya Yoshimasa, Takahashi Hiroki

Severe prince. There can be various ideas. Even if he was the “younger rival” archetype, Suwabe Junichi still plays that type of character. Watching first season, the thought of switching Daryun-Hosoya kept entering my mind. It always crossed my mind after the few times Daryun and Silvermask encountered each other. What seems to be the idea here, thanks to Tsuchida, is to have a “new face” voice the villain so Hosoya would be appropriate? If not, Suwabe and Takahashi would be great too and with sex appeal. If you wanted to go 70 – 90s version, he’d probably be Mori Katsuji, Tanaka Hideyuki, or Kamiya Akira (Kenshiro, many others, but also LODOSS’S Ashram the black knight!). Those three are very astringent though. One of my favs Matsumoto Yasunori (松本 保典) would be great!

BTW, we’ll be hearing Suwabe in Kamen Rider Ex-Aid, the upcoming Rider seires.

Toyoguchi Megumi for Etoile? I also thought of her for Farangis but I’m not sure.

I find the supporting cast, such as the Marzbans and minor antagonists, mostly good. What gets me is OVA-Jaswant, voiced by Hiro Yuuki of all people! It’s a total 180. A vibe is extra gentle, which I wouldn’t mind for a guardian, but like I said it’s a complete contrast.

I’ll see you again with the OVA.

 

Leave a Reply

