The Adventure of the Hero Flute by Asakura Rei (勇者フルートの冒険)


Someone from Japan referred to me this net story with enthusiasm. I don’t remember why. I took it to heart, and using dictionaries and a net translator, I checked out this story.

Composed of currently four volumes containing thirty chapters and twenty-nine side stories in length, and is still in the works as of Aug 2015, The Adventure of Hero Flute (勇者フルートの冒険; yūsha furūto no bōken) is a heroic fantasy net epic written by Showa-born housewife Asakura Rei (朝倉 玲). It began in 2004.

She made a private library for herself, writing various stories including an anecdote about her son Shohei in “My Child’s Developmental Disorder” (わが子は発達障害) after the 2011 Tohoku Earthquake. She takes the analysis of ADHD to heart.

According to Miss Rei, Flute is aimed towards at least readers from elementary school. Speaking of the above mentioned Shohei, Miss Rei also serialized a youth version of Hero Flute.

Hero Flute is also listed in NET NOVEL RANKING. The keywords listed are “bonds [Friendship]” (絆), “sword and magic” (剣と魔法), and “suspense” (はらはらどきどき means “heart-pounding”, “being on edge”).

Doggie’s Impressions/Story:

Due to being busy, and my attention being consumed by many other things, I am not far at all. However, I was surprised that I could be pulled in by something so jumbled. Visually only. No matter what I used, net dictionaries and all, I wanted to see where this story was going to go. Flute is a tender young boy, and the words described his tenderness well. Seeing his father injured, he mustered up the resolution to find the mythical golden stone, which is said to cure anything.

Did seeing the dire expressions of his family, hearing his mother’s cries, seeing his father’s terrible bloodied wounds, give him the courage?

What confused me at first was the entire formatting. It may be due to her time, but the chapters seemed to be broken down into parts. For example, Part I is a compilation of the hero’s child life; Part 1 has nine adventure segments and nine gaiden (side story) segments; Part 1’s first segment (of nine) has eleven chapters.

I say nine because the starting chapter is “zero”; there is no “gaiden zero”.

I will discuss more another day. Honor to you, Miss Rei.

One thought on “The Adventure of the Hero Flute by Asakura Rei (勇者フルートの冒険)

  1. Pingback: More “The Adventure of the Hero Flute (勇者フルートの冒険): “FLUTE 0” | The Doggie World

Leave a Reply

